Review: Amon Amarth – Jomsviking – Metal Blade Records/Sony – Out Now

Review: Amon Amarth – Jomsviking – Metal Blade Records/Sony – Out Now.

“Jomsviking” is the first concept album from the mighty Vikings of Amon Amarth.
Like Ted said before in an interview with us, which you can read here, it was harder to do than a regular song list because they had to keep the timeline of the story in the right order. Let´s find out if it worked out. To be honest, with a look at their discography something tells me not to worry.

Amon Amarth is:
Vocals – Johan Hegg
Bass – Ted Lundström
Guitar – Johan Söderberg
Guitar – Olavi Mikkonen


amon amarthStraight from the start ‘First Kill’ gives us the Viking vibe which we love so much. Their riffs easily get hammered into your brain. Melodic as hell and before you know it you do a gruntalong with the chorus. A safe song with the well-known formula we love from Amon Amarth.
‘Wanderer’ starts in a softer pace, but when the yawn almost starts to appear the song bursts out into a beautiful mid-tempo banger. I love it how Amon Amarth stays true to themselves without getting boring. Love the vibe in this song. The spoken part at the end takes the juice a bit out of the song. It’s there for the concept … but it doesn’t feel really natural.

‘On a Sea of Blood’ gives us the more death metal side of the album. It has more balls than the previous songs and to me this is one of the better songs of the record. Not too much side stuff, just plain melodic death. A nice safe banger from them.
‘On Against All’ is on the same page as the previous pearl. Gruntalong and raise your horns. Safe as your mother’s womb, but tasty as hell. The review starts to look a bit the same… And the same goes for this record.

Don’t get me wrong, Amon Amarth are good at their own thing, but they bring nothing new to the table. Most times I would hate this about a band, but somehow in the case of Amon Amarth what they always bring is what you as fan want to hear from them. Jolly good old death metal to bang along to with a beer (or two) in your hand and have a mighty good old gruntalong. So I can bug you guys and continue with a song by song review….
Ah fuck that … just buy and bang!

Amon Amarth does what we expect and want from them. A great record with some good melodic death to party on.

Score: 4 out of 5

1. First Kill
2. Wanderer
3. On A Sea Of Blood
4. One Against All
5. Raise Your Horns
6. The Way Of Vikings
7. At Dawn‘s First Light
8. One Thousand Burning Arrows
9. Vengeance Is My Name (bonus track – for digibook, digital, LP, and viking ship editions)
10. A Dream That Cannot Be (Featuring Doro Pesch)
11. Back On Northern Shores

Amon Amarth Facebook

Text by: Ronald van de Baan

Related posts

Review: Deströyer 666 – Wildfire – Season of Mist – Release: Out Now.


Review: Dante’s Theory – Amut – Transcending Obscurity – Release: Out now


Review: Incantation – Profane Nexus – Relapse Records – Release: 11-08-2017