Death Destruction – II – Sony Music Entertainment– Out now

Death Destruction – II – Sony Music Entertainment– Out now

Death Destruction was formed somewhere in 2004 as a side-project of Evergrey’s Henrik Danhage and Jonas Ekdahl. Despite that the project transformed into a full on band with which they released their debut album “Death Destruction” in 2011 filled with hard hitting groove metal. Recently they released their second album, aptly named “II”


Death Destruction is:

Tony JJ – Vocals
Henrik Danhage – Guitars
Fredrik Larsson – Bass
Jonas Ekdahl – Drums



DeathDestruction-e1392805200492The biggest change this time around is a replacement of singers. Tony has a decidedly different voice from Jimmy Strimmel, but his vocals fit the music perfectly. He’s both a good screamer as well as an adequate singer.

Death Destruction give us 13 tracks filled with the groove metal fans will already be familiar with. Despite the fact that one could say that this band is still quite young, when viewed from their EP in 2011 (not counting the demo in 2004) everything is very well polished and shows an experienced band. This isn’t exactly surprising when you look at the personnel list and see the many years of experience in Evergrey and Hammerfall, to name the biggest two bands.

This album is quite a different cup of tea when compared to those two bands of course. Catchy groove metal with links to nu-metal and you can even hear some good old rock & roll in some of the solos. It’s a varied bunch of songs and they will certainly let you get your groove down.

Groove metal isn’t really my cup of tea, but I quite enjoyed the album. I doubt it will really reach great heights, but as it stands the songs are well-crafted and well-executed. Fans of groove metal and fans of nu-metal looking for a step-up should certainly give this album a listen.

Track list:

  1. Divine Justice
  2. Dead Pilot
  3. Money, Blood, Crucifixus
  4. Towards the Light
  5. I Am the Plague
  6. Set the Sail
  7. Give It a Try
  8. False Flag
  9. I Promised You Nothing
  10. Taste the Mud
  11. A Shelter From Harm
  12. Epilogue
  13. Insane Stays Sane

Score: 3.8 out of 5

Written by: Robert Popovic

Related posts

Live Report: Sinister/TMDC/Inquisitor/Dauthuz/Thoughtless – P60 Amstelveen, 10-3-2018


BLACK VEIL BRIDES return with self-titled fourth album


Vid of the day: THE VINTAGE CARAVAN – Midnight Meditation