Destitution – Beware the Fury of the Patient Man – Self-Released– Out Now

Destitution – Beware the Fury of the Patient Man – Self-Released– Out Now

It’s been quite a nice year for lovers of the old school of thrash metal with recent releases of Overkill and Exodus, but we shouldn’t forget about the little man! The little man in this case is Destitution who hail from the north of the Netherlands. Founded in 2007 to bring back the glory of old school thrash metal and now they have released their debut album!

Destitution is:

Emiel van der Ploeg – Guitar & Vocals
Geert van der Laan – Guitar
Robert Schutte – Bass Guitar
Tristan Sievers – Drums


Beware the Fury of the Patient Man
destitution_coverartThe entire album is filled with the spirit of the old days. A no-frills production, what you hear is what you get. No over the top production values, just honest metal the way it used to be. Even the awesome artwork is 80s through and through. Catchy songs that sometimes take me back to Metallica’s Kill ‘em All. Raise your horns and your beer and bang your head, leather jacket filled with patches is optional. Catchy sing along choruses in songs “Vigilante” and bluesy sessions like in “Criticize” turn this into one pretty complete album.

There’s even the classic thrash ballad with “Affinity”, but honesty compels me to say that the vocalist’s voice is not really suited for the softer parts. He does his best, but the strain is just too audible. Luckily it doesn’t diminish the song at all and it’s just a small blemish on this pretty much perfect old school thrasher. Definite highlight is the title track which is a very nice blend between thrash and the more dramatic heavy metal. And in a classic way the band fades to black whilst sombre keyboards close the album.

No frills, just honest and straightforward thrash metal as it used to be. If you have any feelings at all for the old stuff you should definitely check out Destitution!

Track list:

  1. Mr. Greedy
  2. Alcathrash
  3. Criticize
  4. Rhythm of Horses
  5. Western Civilization
  6. Vigilante
  7. Guilty Until Proven Innocent
  8. Affinity
  9. Screenplay
  10. Beware the Fury of the Patient Man

Score: 4 out of 5

Text by: Robert Popovic

Related posts

Review: Tankard – One Foot in the Grave – Nuclear Blast Records – Release: 02-06-2017


Ered – Night of Eternal Doom – War Anthem Records – Release: Out Now


Review: Evan – Blue Lightning – FC Metal Recordings – Release: 15-07-2016