DGM was started in 1994 as an instrumental band. In 1996 they put out their first EP “Random Access Zone” with Luciano Regoli as a singer. They made several albums on a regular basis, but couldn’t keep the line-up stable. Finally in 2005 they found the right musicians and an appearance on the ProgPower Europe festival put them on the prog metal map for good. Now they release their eight studio album “Momentum” on Scarlet Records.

DGM is:

Mark Basile – vocals
Simone Mularoni – guitars
Emanuele Casali – keyboards
Andrea Arcangeli – bass
Fabio Costantino – drums


Super-fast riffs welcome you on the album opener “Reason”. Mark Basile gets the help of master singer Russel Allen. Pointless to say that Russel demonstrates his powerful voice on this track. Besides the superb guitars from Simone you’re in for another treat with the extraordinary keys from Casali. Listen to the instrumental break and you’ll catch my drift. An absolute cracking openings track, which has also been chosen as first video single. The following track “Trust” has a more melodic feel. But Mularoni throws in some squeaking guitars and the drums are sometimes all over the place. The chorus could easily be on a melodic rock album! An alternating guitar and keys solo always puts a big smile on my face, so again both thumbs up here! “Univers” knows a bombastic start but soon transforms in another speedy riff monster. The instrumental breaks are every time big drooling moments. “Numb” is more a pure progressive metal track with pounding drums and many changes in pace. The keys often have a high old school dosage, what makes me even want to hear more and more. Yeah, I’m a sucker for that kind of keys. Phenomenal riffs and an awesome Basile transform “Pages” into an absolute feast for lovers of fast played prog metal. The virtuosity from both guitar work and keys simply drips from this track.

During the romantic “Repay” we are granted a bit of rest. Singer Marco proves without a shadow of a doubt that he has an amazing voice. The aggressive sounding “Chaos” holds a solo from another guitar virtuoso Jorn Virgo Lofstad (from Pagan’s Mind). “Remembrance” brings a more melodic sounding Mark to the surface. But as a true Italian he let’s his emotions pop up from time to time. “Overload” is packed with supersonic riffs and faster than lightning keys. Sometimes you feel you’re in the middle of a high speed chase! During the first part of “Void” I hear some keys that could have been borrowed from a dance song! The break brings some relaxing guitars accompanied with classic piano. This part of peace and quiet is being pushed aside by another flashing solo! The classical piano crawls back from its corner to end the song in beauty. The start of the album closer reminds me of classic Savatage (again the piano). But when the guitar walks through the door that link disappears. “Blame” is a track with fewer extravaganzas and a slower pace. We’re being treated again with a guitar and keys solo. The inspiration from the band seems endless, because the sound of a music box brings this album to an end.

The Italian prog metallers from DGM have made an album that definitely will score high in my year list. The vocal performance from Mark Basile is outstanding and lovers from speedy guitar and keys will simply adore this album. This is more than a fine slice of prog metal. I look forward on seeing the band on stage at the prestigious Power Prog & Metal Fest in Mons, Belgium on April the 12th.

Score: 4,25 out of 5


  1. Reason (feat. Russell Allen)
  2. Trust
  3. Universe
  4. Numb
  5. Pages
  6. Repay
  7. Chaos (feat. Viggo Lofstad)
  8. Remembrance
  9. Overload
  10. Void
  11. Blame


Tekst Rik Bauters