Review: Dregen – Dregen – Universal Records – Out now

Dregen – Dregen – Universal Records – Out now

Dregen, born Andreas Tyrone Svensson, has earned his spurs with both Backyard Babies and Hellacopter. In 1998 he quit Hellacopter so that he would be able to focus more on Backyard Babies. Since then Dregen has worked with several artists until in 2011 fans got the first message that he was working on a solo album. Two years later the album is finally released and Dregen has brought in some friends to help him out.


Dregen is:

Dregen – Vocals, Lead Guitar
Nicke Andersson – Drums, Bass, Rhythm guitar
Karl Rockfist – Drums
Sami Yaffa – Bass
John Calabrese – Bass
Danko Jones – Vocals
Titiyo – Vocals

DregenWhen the album starts off with “Divisions of Me” it’s clear right away what you’ll be getting. Old school eighties glam/hard rock with a nice sleazy tone to it. Dregen’s slightly raspy voice is perfect for a song like this. We stay right in the same mood when the second song “Just Like That” kicks in with nice chugging riffs and the added female vocals by Titiyo give the song an instant sing-along vibe. It’s a perfect song to play live and have a fun party. And that is really what the whole albums comes down to, having a great time and a lot of fun!

Actually, scratch that. Things get a bit more serious with “Flat Tyre on a Muddy Road” which has somewhat more serious lyrics. That doesn’t take away from the fun though because there is a great blues-rock vibe to this song with a catchy chorus. Once again it shows that it was a great move to have Titiyo perform on this album, because her voice really complements the songs. Almost all of the songs are pretty much bite-sized chunks of good old eighties rock to sing along to and will be a blast at live shows. Aside from the aforementioned “Flat Tyre on a Muddy Road” another song that really stands apart is “6-10” which has a very funky beat going on, at times even flirting with a bit of disco. If you dislike that kind of style you shouldn’t worry because “Refuse” will rope you right back into the eighties. Ending the album on a high note is “Mojo’s Gone”. Despite the title, his musical mojo is most certainly not gone and this is one cracker of a song that will have you driving your car at top speed!

There is nothing earthshattering or really new about this album. No pretensions whatsoever, other than giving the listener a good time and taking them back to the eighties when the genre was at its high point. It is energetic rock and you’ll be singing along before you know it!

Track list:

  1. Divisions of Me
  2. Just Like That
  3. Flat Tyre on a Muddy Road
  4. Gig Pig
  5. Pink Hearse
  6. Bad Situation
  7. One Man Army
  8. 6-10
  9. Refuse
  10. Mojo’s Gone

Score: 3.5 out of 5

Text Robert Popovic

Related posts

Monte Pittman – The Power of Three – Metal Blade Records – Release 21-01-2014


Video-dump: Bekijk hier de nieuwste rock- en metalvideo’s


Cancer komt naar Schoonebeek