Formed in 2006, EDEN’S CURSE have risen from their humble beginnings as an internet studio project to a full blown touring outfit with four studio albums and several tours behind them. In spite of the quality there was on their latest effort “Trinity” the band have to let singer Michael Eden go. The search for a new singer ended when they attracted Serbian vocalist Nikola Mijic and they added former Dragonforce and Powerquest keyboarder Steve Williams to the line-up.  Together with producer Dennis Ward they started to record their fourth album “Symphony Of Sin”.


Eden’s Curse is:

Nikola Mijic – Vocals
Thorsten Koehne – Guitars
Paul Logue – Bass
Steve Williams – Keys
Pete Newdeck – Drums

download (1)A 45 piece orchestra opens the long title track! After a minute the riffs from Thorsten alter the sound in a major way and quickly gets the company from Steve’s keys. New shouter Nikola impresses with his first notes. This is a true killer track which demonstrates the musicianship of the band members and forms a confirmation of the fact that there is live after the break with Mr. Eden. This kind of songwriting with strong variation and a high dose of feeling always makes my day. The faster “Break The Silence” has a much heavier sound. Especially the guitar gives this track a darker and meaner feeling. As always the backing vocals are a great treat for the fans of melodic rock. The teasing from the keys and the guitar in the break form another highlight.

First single “Evil & Divine” has a slightly more classic melodic rock feel and the bass from Paul demands attention. This track makes me wanna jump up and move to the beat! Koehne’s guitar work is again outstanding! “Unbreakable” follows the path of quality AOR with flourishing keys and strong drumming from Pete. Nikola can demonstrate the melodic side of his voice range. The song makes me think about the mighty Journey! “Falling From Grace” is a classic ballad with piano and acoustic guitar and a superb Nikola! “Losing My Faith” brings another quality melodic rock band in mind: Dokken. This rocker is a true party crasher!! We stay on the rocky Dokken side with both “Rock Bottom” and “Great Unknown”. Super catchy solo’s from Thorsten promotes this one to one of my favorites!

But the tricks on the strings from the axe man Thorsten are present in every track. Lend your ear to the sensitive vibrations from those six strings during “Turn The Page” and the shredding solo at the start from “Sign Of The Cross”. The commercial sound from “Wings To Fly” will bring an instant smile on the faces of the AOR lovers. “Devil In Disguise” is a real heavy rocker with a catchy chorus and several Yngwie Malmsteen inspired short shreds. The album closes in beauty with the semi power ballad “Where Is The Love?”, that holds some references to the Scorpions.

This new line-up proved in a big way that they can write catchy songs. The variation in the sound and feel makes it easy to listen to the whole album in one rush! The superb guitars, the luxuriant keys and the overpowering vocals makes this album a must buy for lovers from melodic rock in general!

I want to end this conclusion with something I picked from the enclosed: Is it different? Yes! Is it EDEN’S CURSE? Yes! Is it good? You bet it is!

Score: 4,25 out of 5


  1. Symphony Of Sin
  2. Break The Silence
  3. Evil & Divine
  4. Unbreakable
  5. Fallen From Grace
  6. Losing My Faith
  7. Rock Bottom
  8. Great Unknown
  9. Turn The Page
  10. Sign Of The Cross
  11. Wings To Fly
  12. Devil In Disguise
  13. Where Is The Love



Text Rik Bauters

Related posts

first impression: Sammath – Across The Rhine is only death


Ass To Mouth – Degenerate – Selfmadegod Records 2014, out now!


Live report: Soen – Q-factory Amsterdam, 23-03-2019