Killer Be Killed – Title – Nuclear Blast – Out Now

Killer Be Killed – Title – Nuclear Blast – Out Now

Killed Be Killed is one of the newest supergroups out there and the band has quite the cast!
Max Cavalera of the mighty Soulfly and Cavalera Conspiracy, Greg Puciato of The Dillinger Escape Plan, Dave Elitch previously of The Mars Volta and Troy Sanders from Mastodon.
A cast like that is nothing to sneeze at and with Cavalera and Sanders being the main minds behind the band you would expect a very diverse and powerful album.

Killer Be Killed is:

Greg Puciato – vocals, guitar
Max Cavalera – vocals, guitar
Troy Sanders – vocals, bass
Dave Elitch – drums

Killer Be Killed
Killer-Be-Killed-Killer-Be-KilledRight off the bat the band shows a modern melodic and heavy sound, yet before you know it the sound will turn into a heavy groove or a classic thrasher! Having different vocalists sharing duties gives the songs a good dynamic sound and both the guitar players and the bass player are specialized in bringing a very heavy sound.

“Wings of Feather and Wax” will definitely cater to the younger metalheads out there, especially those in the metalcore-scene, although Killer Be Killed certainly doesn’t seem to be marketed as such. “Face Down” has more downtime in the song in between the fast parts, but has a gratifying groove to it.
Unfortunately “Melting of My Marrow” is the one song on the album that I really don’t like. The guitar sound is just too nagging and for some reason Greg’s voice gets on my nerves as a bit on the whining sound. This is a shame, because his vocals are great in the other songs.

You can’t cater to everyone’s taste of course, but I’m glad that the malice filled “Snakes of Jehova” steam-train engine takes away the bad taste the previous song left me with. It starts slowly with an foreboding sense of doom and seriously ramps up the speed a few times.  Luckily the other songs keep up the healthy dosage of groove and thrashing about, bar the final song “Forbidden Fire”, which kind of reminds me of Metallica’s “The Outlaw Torn” in its softer part, though with added heaviness and less bombast. Although I like the song it’s a bit of a downer to close the album on. In my opinion they should have switched it around with “Twelve Labors” to end with a bit of a bang.

Personally I felt that Max’ last Soulfly album “Savages” was a bit lacklustre. It lacked aggression and just wasn’t up to snuff. In contrast with that I vastly prefer Killer Be Killed’s debut-album, although it doesn’t really resemble Soulfly’s work of course, just like it doesn’t have much resemble to The Dillinger Escape Plan either. It turned out to be a dynamic album that will please younger metalheads and older ones alike.

Track list:

  1. Wings of Feather and Wax
  2. Face Down
  3. Melting of My Marrow
  4. Snakes of Jehova
  5. Curb Crusher
  6. Save the Robots
  7. Fire to Your Flag
  8. I.E.D.
  9. Dust Into Darkness
  10. Twelve Labors
  11. Forbidden Fire

 Score: 4.2 out of 5

 Written by Robert Popovic

Related posts



Kambrium – brand new song released


Amaranthe – Massive Addictive – Spinefarm Records– Release 20 -10 – 2014