Lacuna Coil – Broken Crown Halo – Century Media – Release 31-03-2014

Lacuna Coil – Broken Crown Halo – Century Media – Release 31-03-2014

Lacuna Coil have been a landmark in heavy music ever since their first full-length “In a Reverie” back in 1999. The melancholic tones coupled with Cristina Scabbia’s beautiful vocals and the great contrast with Andrea Ferro’s voice have garnered them a large following over the years. With the release of their previous album “Dark Adrenaline” in 2012 they reached the magical number of one million sales in just the US alone. After two years and a lot of pain they bring us their seventh and newest album “Broken Crown Halo”.

Lacuna Coil is:
Cristina Scabbia – Vocals
Andrea Ferro – Vocals
Marco Biazzi – Guitar
Cristiano Migliore – Guitar
Marco Coto-Zelati – Bass
Cristiano Mozzati – Drums

Broken Crown Halo
Lacuna Coil open the album on a powerful note with the aggressive opening of “Nothing Stands in Our Way”, though it quickly subsides to a softer tone accompanied by Cristina’s ever lovely voice. Luckily the punch returns when the heavier guitars and Andrea kick in. The song alternates between heaviness and a more poppy sound and certainly does have a hook and serves as a good song to lure people in. Most songs are of the same build to be honest. All of them could easily be used as singles to draw people in to the rest of the album. None of the songs are really ‘meaty’ so to speak. “Zombies” has a tendency to be a bit heavier and faster paced, yet feels like it’s pulling its punches a lot. The band members have gone through some rough times and they’ve used the experiences to fuel the new album in music and lyrics.

A highlight of the album so far is the song “I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name)”. It really feels heartfelt and compared to most songs on the album there’s a lot more to this song. It’s upbeat, slightly bombastic, yet still filled with melancholy. Another song to check out would be “I Burn in You” which has just a bit more heaviness to it than most songs.
Lacuna Coil choose to end the album with the long “One Cold Day” which starts on a slow note, but has some nicely symphonic keys. Despite its length of six minutes it never really drags on.

There aren’t really any surprises on the new album and to be frank, the best I can say is that none of the songs are bad or mediocre. But aside from the aforementioned songs none are really that great either. If this album had been released several years ago it could’ve been something special, but now it feels kind of like a band on auto-pilot, a band past its prime. Again, it’s not a bad album mind you; it’s pretty enjoyable in its own right. But unless you’re a fan of the band I wouldn’t really expect to be blown away.

Track list:

  1. Nothing Stands in Our Way
  2. Zombies
  3. Hostage to the Light
  4. Victims
  5. Die & Rise
  6. I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name)
  7. Cybersleep
  8. Infection
  9. I Burn in You
  10. In the End I feel Alive
  11. One Cold Day

Score: 3.3 out of 5


Tekst Robert Popovic