Review: Satan – Atom By Atom – Listenable Records – Release: Out Now

Review: Satan – Atom By Atom – Listenable Records – Release: Out Now.

Satan are a British heavy metal band formed in 1980 in their home town of Newcastle Upon Tyne. The band is considered influential for playing a form of proto-thrash/speed metal that was fairly advanced by the standards of the early 1980s. Their debut “Court In The Act” is still one of my all-time favorites. The band released two demos, a 7”, a four song EP, and two full length albums before going into hibernation in the late 1980’s.
After reuniting in 2011 with the line-up from their classic debut, Satan signed to Listenable Records to release a direct successor to the afore mentioned album in 2013. Now they managed to write ten new songs and put them on their latest disc “Atom By Atom”.

Satan is:
Brian Ross – Vocals
Russ Tippins – Guitars
Steve Ramsey – Guitars
Graeme English – Bass
Sean Taylor – Drums


Atom By Atom
satanThe album kicks off with a hell of a scream from Brian. A few seconds later a thunderous bass line greets me and those are being chased by some faster than lightning guitars. Although the guitar playing is extremely fast, it’s very melodic. A kind of trademark for Satan, in fact! Just lend your ears to the solo section and your jaw will drop from unbelief. Maybe some drool will escape from the corners of your mouth! The album follows the same path the band has chosen with their comeback album “Life Sentence”. One thing is for sure: this album is a feast for guitar lovers.
A great example of that guitar wizardry can be heard during the intro of ‘Ruination’ and things can’t get any better when you hear the vibrating strings during ‘The Devil’s Infantry’. Not only praise for both guitar players though; Graeme English knows how to stroke the strings from his bass guitar as well! Talking about groove, this guy is a real groove master!
All tracks are instant likes and put a Joker-sized smile on my face!
The band has his signature sound, but on ‘In Contempt’, I can spot some early Iron Maiden influences.
Lyrically you also can learn something here. First up there’s a tale of ‘Ahriman’, who is the god of darkness and evil (according to Zoroastrianism) or a fallen archangel (according to the anthroposophy). For the freaks among us, it’s also a race of monsters in the Final Fantasy game series! With ‘The Fall Of Persephone’, we get some Greek Mythology. She was the daughter of Zeus and Demeter, and the queen of the underworld. She was abducted by Hades, the god of the underworld.
‘Bound In Enmity’ is another tasty dish filled with superb riffs. Oh yeah, don’t forget the beating of the skins by Sean Taylor! And singer Brian Ross can produce some high pitched screams that give you cold chills up your spine!
But these guys saved the best for last. The epic ‘The Fall Of Persephone’ is a real treat people! Some highly melodic guitar riffs satisfy my musical appetite. After the narrating middle section the guitar work from Russ and Steve is beyond my wildest dreams. This album certainly ends with a BANG!

When “Court In The Act” was released I jumped from happiness when I first listened to it. I got that same emotional response with the comeback album “Life Sentence”. Well guess what: after listening to “Atom by Atom” I jumped even higher and kept bouncing for several minutes. Fans from the band must buy this album! It’s simply stunning! The guitar work is out of this world! Hoping on catching the band live an stage in the nearby future! I will buy me a red vinyl of this piece of musical art, for sure!

Score: 4,75 out of 5

1. Farewell Evolution
2. Fallen Saviour
3. Ruination
4. The Devil’s Infantry
5. Atom By Atom
6. In Contempt
7. My Own God
8. Ahriman
9. Bound In Enmity
10. The Fall Of Persephone

Satan Official
Listenable Records

Text by: Rik Bauters

Related posts

Review: Cradle of Filth – Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay – Nuclear Blast Records – Release: 22-09-2017


Review: Robin Beck – Love Is Coming – Frontiers Music – Release: Out now


Cradle of Filth – Hammer of the Witches – Nuclear Blast – Release: July 10th 2015