Review: Vivaldi Metal Project – The Four Seasons – Pride & Joy Music – Release: Out Now

Review: Vivaldi Metal Project – The Four Seasons – Pride & Joy Music – Release: Out Now.

The Vivaldi Metal Project is a music creation born from an idea conceived and developed by Italian keyboard player, composer and producer Mistheria (solo artist, Bruce Dickinson, Rob Rock, Roy Z, Artlantica).
The project is a symphonic-metal opera based on Antonio Vivaldi’s Baroque masterwork “The Four Seasons”, featuring more than 130 amazing metal and classical artists, an orchestra, a string quartet and three choirs from all over the world. The album features 14 tracks – all the movements from Antonio Vivaldi’s original score plus two original new songs written by Mistheria. The impressive roster of artists probably makes this titanic album the biggest all-star project ever!


The Four Seasons
Vivaldi-Metal-Project-official-cover-albumThe album kicks off with ‘Escape From Hell’. This pure metal song is crafted by Mistheria and acts as a prelude to the actual ‘Four Seasons’. We can enjoy the still strong and warm vocals from Rob Rock. The aggressive guitar sound comes from DGM’s Simone Mularoni and Tommy Vitaly delivers a fitting solo.
The bombastic adventure starts with ‘The Illusion Of Ethernity’ (Spring #1 – Allegro). What makes this project so special and different is the addition of vocals to the well-known music pieces. It’s great to hear how well the vocal lines fit on top of the music.

The album has many different modes (such as the original masterpiece) and we hear the uplifting before mentioned ‘The Illusion Of Ethernity’, the furious part 2 Light from ‘Vita’ (with some real screaming vocals from Csaba Zvekan), the romantic, sensitive part 1 Darkness from ‘Vita’ and even some commercial sounding classic opera stuff on ‘Euphoria’. The Hammond organ injects a Deep Purple vibe in this very diverse song.

The transition from smooth, relaxing piano sounds to the bombast of electric violin (from Mark Wood) and the shredding of Joe Stump is simply mind-blowing during the rather dark ‘Sun Of God’.
The enchanting vocals from Elina Laivera and Chitral Somapala at the start of ‘Immortal Soul’ are in big contrast with the powerful outburst of the chorus. ‘Thunderstorm’ is the perfect example of the metallization of classical music. The goods here are delivered by Marco Sfogli on guitars and Vitalij Kuprij on keyboards. The vocals are minimal here and the emphasis lies on the musical explosions!

The darker colored ‘Alchemy’ has a big opera approach with the typical vocal layers!
‘Stige’ is pure neo-classical metal and the solo from Victor Smolski is pure ear candy.
The high pitched voice from Fabio Lione is simply the perfect match for the violins in ‘The Meaning Of Life’. The album closer ‘Doomsday’ is another track composed by Mistheria. It lies completely in the same vein as the others tracks. It even introduces some harsh spoken vocals!

Mistheria began on this project in 2013 and it must have been loads and loads of work. With the help of Alberto Rigoni he completed this huge task. But it sure is a wonderful piece of music. It proves once again that metal and classical music can be a splendid marriage! Uli Jon Roth has done this in the past with his “Metamorphosis” album. His versions were close to the original ones, but he wrote a ‘new’ four seasons. This album adds vocals and that makes it a whole different experience! You can lay down on your couch listening to one track, but then you jump up and start shaking your head or play air guitar during another track.

Score: 4 out of 5

1. Escape From Hell
2. The Illusion Of Ethernity
3. Vita
4. Euphoria
5. Sun Of God
6. Immortal Soul
7. Thunderstorm
8. The Age Of Dreams
9. Alchemy
10. Stige
11. The Meaning Of Life
12. The Final Hour
13. Grande Madre
14. Doomsday

Vivaldi Metal Project
Alberto Rigoni Official

Text by: Rik Bauters

Related posts

Review: Hangar – Stronger Than Ever – FC Metal Recordings – Release: 15-07-2016


Review: Morbid Angel – Kingdoms Disdained – Silver Lining Music – Release: 01-12-2017


Review: Beyond Creation – Algorhythm – Season of Mist – Release: 12-10-2018