Thyrien – Hymns Of The Mortals – Songs From The North – Massacre Records – Out Now

Thyrien – Hymns Of The Mortals – Songs From The North – Massacre Records – Out Now

Thyrien was forged in the coldness of Finland in 2005 and despite a lot of line-up changes they managed to release an EP and an album. They describe their music as a mix of folk metal, death metal and black metal.

Thyrien is:
Oskari Koivisto – Guitar, Vocals
Jere Sjögren – Bass, Backing Vocals
Valtteri Martikainen – Lead Guitar
Sakari Martikainen – Drums

Hymns Of The Mortals – Songs From The North
Thyrien_HymnsOf_cover_MASCD0861To give an easy comparison of what the music sounds like I could just point you towards Ensiferum and say that it sounds something like that. All the characteristics are their; lots of lead guitaring, grunts and screams and backing keyboards to give the music an epic feel. But that wouldn’t really be fair to the band as the songs are good on their own, although the comparison might stay in the back of your mind.

It’s probably due to the problems the band had the past years, because otherwise they could might have been riding the high waves of the ‘battle metal’-thing that was going on a few years ago (is that even a thing these days? Or even back then?). The vocals are brutal as well as very efficient in setting the battle-ready mood. The songs are catchy and energetic and a song like “Eternal Journey” is made for partying. “My Victory My Defeat” will have you straining your neck muscles with constant windmilling with its pace shifting between slow and mid-tempo.

The band decide to end the album with the coversong “Tinasormus” by Janne Hurme, who is completely unknown to me, which actually reminds me a lot of the Finnish power metal band Dreamtale. It’s a bit of strange song to end the album with as it really does fall out of place.

If you like your folk infused metal to have a bit more ‘oomph’ to it you can’t go wrong with Thyrien. The melodies are great, the rhythm packs a punch and you’ll give your neck a good workout.

Track list:

  1. Far Beyond Midgard
  2. Vengeance Through My Soul
  3. Deathwish
  4. My Victory, My Defeat
  5. The Frozen North
  6. The Eternal Journey
  7. Forest is My Throne
  8. Nature’s Rage
  9. When the Horizon Burns
  10. Tinasormus (Janne Hurme Cover)

Score: 3.8 out of 5

 Robert Popovic

Related posts

Wolfchant – Embraced by Fire – Noise Art Records – Out Now


Barren Earth signs to Century Media


NORYLSK Signs With Selfmadegod Records; New Album Coming Soon