Winter of Sin – Violence Reigns Supreme – Cyclone Empire– Release 28-03-2014

Winter of Sin – Violence Reigns Supreme – Cyclone Empire– Release 28-03-2014

Winter of Sin was formed in the North of the Netherlands way back in 1998. They released two demos before releasing their first album “Woest” in 2006 which avalanched the listener with melodic black metal accompanied by keyboards. After that they released “Razernij” in 2008 and after a few shows things went quiet. The keyboards got ditched and the band would evolve into a new sound. In 2012 Winter of Sin entered the studio again for the new album with a renewed line-up featuring Henri Sattler and Michiel van der Plicht of God Dethroned fame. It has been a long time since the last album, has it been worth the wait?

Winter of Sin is:
Henri Sattler – Vocals
Dirk Barelds – Guitar, Bass
Ricardo Gelok – Guitar, Bass
Michiel van der Plicht – Drums

Violence Reigns Supreme
I haven’t had the pleasure of hearing “Razernij” so far, but as soon as the melodic black & death metal infused “Astral Death Reign Algorithm” kicks off you will know that this is nothing like the band from “Woest” and older. The music is more furious than ever before, not in the least thanks to the perfect sound recording quality; the guitars will shred your ears and the drums will tear down what’s left of your eardrums. On top of it is the almighty and highly recognizable voice of Henri Sattler blowing your brains out through your ears. It’s also due to Henri’s voice that one could be mistaken in thinking that this is a new God Dethroned album, but that’s only an immensely positive comparison for the change Winter of Sin has gone through. It still has some of the melody of older Winter of Sin, but the music is a lot more violent and unrestrained.

The title song “Violence Reigns Supreme” is actually rather catchy and sort of uplifting in its guitar play. “Virus” gives the soft-hearted a break to catch their breath from the assault they just witnessed. Luckily Winter of Sin did not choose to have one half of the album be brutal and the other half be soft, because as “Infection of Infinity” starts the barrage of brutality continues.
“Inheritors of Pain” has the band shift down a gear and is probably the most melodic song on the album, a real black metal ballad! No, just kidding. While slower, this song is perfect for some slow and deep headbanging. “Biomechanoid” ends the album in style. There’s a constant feeling of departure during the song as it sounds quite melancholic, which is quite fitting as the album leaves you wanting so much more!

Winter of Sin is back and it’s a whole different beast altogether. While I still enjoy their old work, this new album doesn’t really compare to it. It’s fast, brutal, malignant and you will push that ‘repeat’-button as soon as the album ends. Let’s just hope it won’t take another 6 years before the next album, but I doubt it as this album will make them big!

Track list:

  1. Astral Death Reign Algorithm
  2. Maelstrom
  3. Eternal Winter
  4. Violence Reigns Supreme
  5. Black Ashes
  6. Virus
  7. Infection Of Infinity
  8. Inheritors Of Pain
  9. Unleash Mayhem
  10. Biomechanoid

Score: 4.7 out of 5

 Robert Popovic